In the blink of an eye…

Standard

<For those of you who have been following my blog over the last several months, I hope you enjoyed sharing in the journey as much as I have enjoyed taking the journey. I cycled well over 900 miles since spring. cycling for health, environmental reasons, sport, and lastly to raise awareness about Peacejam on the 600 mile cycling tour. So many of you have been supporting PeaceJam, and me and for that I say "Thank you". I have been away from blogging for awhile due to a traumatic life changing accident. On October 8th, less than two weeks after my sister and law and I cycled 600 miles throughout New England speaking with PeaceJammers and colleges, community groups, ect. Life changed in a blink of an eye. It was a gorgeous Saturday morning and I road my bike into work to have a meeting with the executive director. The day felt perfect. Blue skies, cool breezes, and warm sun. The commute to work is about 12 miles, just enough to get excited and look forward to the ride home. No carbon emissions, no gas and oil leaking on the road, just my legs and my heart fueling the commute.

On that day as I entered the town of Madison, a truck turning into traffic did not see me and ran over me. I felt my pelvis shattering, my butt getting ripped up by my seat lever, pain as thee delivery truck went over my abdomen and left leg totally degloving it.

It happened, I was a statistic and this statistic just immediately began fighting for her life. Shrieking in pain others stopped traffic and helped me get an ambulance. I was in critical care a few days at Yale and then on a ventillator asleep in and out of surgeries for a month. On November 11, I was released to Gaylords rehab hospital where they have a wound vac on my skinless leg, much daily care to the wounds on my stomach, including my beautiful new colostomy, and a four inch deep wound right in my tookus. I am also learning to walk again.

I have felt intense fear, anger, sadness, relief (as they almost lost me a few times) and now in the state of finding trust and acceptance.

Throughout all of this I have learned the definition of unconditional love through my husband that has slept by my side every night and all of my friends and family that have rallied together to not just support and pray for me, but also for eachother. God does answer prayers.

NextGen Leaders struggled financially and due to their outcome I have lost my job, but I am still hopefull about PeaceJam. PeaceJam is an international organization so I believe my work is far from done. For now, I need to heal and nourish my soul. Please pray for me during the day. Pray my wounds will heal, pray we can find a way to pay our expenses, and pray that Sean and I can keep strong and healthy souls as sometimes we just crumble and cry.

Life changes in an instant, I am alive to tell you about it. I am also not ever going to give up.
Please keep in contact.
With Peace and hope,
Colleen

7 responses »

  1. YOU are everything that exemplifies the trials and rough roads that glorify God and you and Sean touch me in ways that inspire me and bring me to tears regularly. I know I am not alone. Your life and story are more than a story, you are touching people and moving hearts.
    YOU guys are loved
    Molly

  2. I love you SO so much, Colleen, and I am incredibly blessed God has brought our paths together.

    You are strong, an amazing inspiration, and SO much more!

    Thank you for sharing this. Your writing always draws me in, and is so beautiful – just like YOU!

    I am really hoping to see you soon…. wish I knew when… : – /

    Sending you BIG hugs, and continued big time prayers. ❤

  3. I have felt your pain since the day after your accident on October 9th when we found our our youngest daughter, Tatum, who is 3, has Leukemia. We have been in and out of the hospital with her many times and know the feeling of fear, anger, sadness, and relief! You are in my thoughts all the time! Oct. 8th and 9th were not te best days for us, but there will be an end date to recovery and we can look forward to sharing those!! You are an amazing woman who has and will inspire many! Love to you and your family! Debbie

  4. I am a friend of your sister in law, but have been praying for you since I heard about the accident. God is giving you a powerful testimony. Keep on relying on Him for your strength and healing. He is involved in all the details leading up to the time of the accident and through your recoverery – molding you to His perfect image. Keep journaling the journey, and know that in the midst of all this you are an encouragement to others!

  5. Dear Colleen, My heart aches to read this a horrific story. I can’t begin to imagine the pain that you have endured to stay alive. It is Thanksgiving day and as I think about you..I am in AWE of your strength. If I were to go through such an ordeal, I imagine myself wanting to give up. I don’t know if I could find the Goliath strength that you have. And I believe with my whole heart that God does have a plan for your very powerful testimony as Michelle stated above. Please be patient, and know that God is with you every step of the way.

    We love you and will continue to pray at the feet of Jesus for you and Sean! ❤

  6. We all love you SO much, Colleen!!! You are an incredibly inspiring woman, and so very courageous. We will do all that we can here at PeaceJam to keep the PeaceJam program going in the Northeast…please know how much we love and respect you, for everything!

Leave a Reply

