Unconditional Love

Standard

Years ago I met a shy, tall, incredibly smiley senior. I was a young sophomore. Brown hair, forever tan, and big blue naive eyes. His name was Sean Malone Alexander. His friend and my friend introduced the two of us. I was overwhelmed with how handsome he was, and felt overly shy and nervous to speak with him. So, I did what any self respecting sophomore girl would do – I wrote him a letter. I folder it perfectly and handed it to him in between classes. I simply said “here” , smiled and walked away.

He called me that night (per my request) and we scheduled our first date. He drove a black vintage VW bug equipped with surf racks and a “super awesome” sound system. Our first date was to Friendlys. Two cheeseburgers and cokes… we sat and talked and laughed and held hands. I was smitten. We quickly became a couple and began going to the beach regularly together, and to the movies, and found ourselves in a very sweet and innocent relationship. Our relationship lasted over six months and took us to his prom together. At the end of the summer when he was about to head to college I became conflicted and ended the relationship. That was the last we saw one another for seventeen years. Over the years we both had our share of relationships and experiences. One day I was friended by him on Facebook. Now we are re-united and married a year and a half ago. As you know I was in a severe accident in October. Sean has been by my side every hour he is not working. He sleeps in a chair next to my bed with his large feet dangling off the edge and his long arm slung over the rail to hold onto me. Last night he worked with me for two hours as my colostomy bag kept losing its seal. He stood over me with love in his eyes- he held wet gauze in his hands and carefully worked to get each piece of tape that was stuck hard to my raw skin off , kissing my forehead gently every few pulls until I was completely un bandaged and the nurse could come in and clean my wounds.

As I looked down at my tattered body, tears dripped down my face. He kissed my lips and said “Remember love ,we are doing this together- and this is temporal”. I wept in his embrace and the nurses cleaned my wounds. He then whispered “you are beautiful”. I wept harder thanking God for this source of love and strength. We will get through this. Today I had a melt down. I cried so hard I could barely breathe. My dear friend Jennifer was here to console and pray with me. I lost it when Sean left in the morning and dreaded my wound changes and going through another day. Then my case manager came in to tell me I should be home by Christmas and they were working on getting care lined up for me and I felt a glimmer of hope. I long to be back at my physical home, even though I know that whenever I am with Sean, I am home.

Sean, thank you. You never cease to amaze me. I am forever grateful for you.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

